Back to Blogging

Anyone out there?

(Dusts off keyboard)

I’m alive! I really didn’t intend to take a 15-month blogging break (are blogs even cool anymore?), but life happened, and now I’m back.

Oh, and I completed a pretty big project while I was away.  Yep, I grew this guy:

  IMG_1270

Meet Hudson Paul, who was born March 30th, and has been growing like a weed ever since.  Being pregnant wasn’t my favorite thing ever- I mean, who really likes throwing up from weeks 5-36, sleeping sitting up because of heartburn, and having strong contractions every 10 minutes for 48 hours before labor really progressed?  But, I can honestly say that every day of little Hudson’s 3-month life has brought me more delight than I could ever imagine.  I love being his mom.

IMG_0007

Last August, Nathan got a job in the town I was already working in, which is over an hour away from our sweet farmhouse.  We tried commuting together for all of 4 days, then threw in the towel and rented a little apartment in our new town.  We put our house on the market this spring, and our first home is now being loved by a new little family.  The house is on our way to Nathan’s parents, so we get to frequently drive past at a normal speed slowly and see what they’ve been up to.  The house looks great!  It makes me so happy to know that the house that we poured our blood, sweat and tears into (lots of tears!), is still getting tons of TLC.

IMG_0043

Watson.  This little dude was an awesome pet and member of the family.  The three of us had so much fun together.  In September, he ran out into the road and was hit by a car.  He didn’t make it, and we still miss him.

 10491220_10152303819371359_4106091454248431573_n 10444687_10152303819281359_6125754404533399451_n

Last weekend, we moved into a spacious two-story in a quiet neighborhood with a beautiful back yard and lots of potential.   We are thrilled to have our own home again!  The couple we bought the house from built it in 1967, raised their three kids here, and now are in assisted living.  They took good care of the house, so everything is functional and livable.  However, they loved wallpaper- lots and lots of wallpaper.  The light fixtures, linoleum and shag carpets scream 70’s.

10525694_10152307865746359_4258949336061397383_n

Camping on the porch.

So, that’s where things are around here. I hope you’re ready to see this dated home transformed into an awesome space for our family!

2 thoughts on “Back to Blogging

  1. Wow!! I wondered where you fell off of the world to, but now I see you just moved!! (in more ways than one, ha ha) Congratulations on your beautiful baby boy! How did Nathan take to the pregnancy?
    Looking forward to seeing what you two do with this house. Don’t be so long in posting, or I might think you fell off the world again. 🙂
    Blessings,
    Dirks Family

  2. CONGRATULATIONS

    Hudson Paul is beautiful! Aww, that’s so said that you had to sell your house you’ve been renovating. 😦 I think, following your blog, that I’ve fallen in love with it too! (and getting to see all your improvements, bargains, and ideas!)

    Looking forward very ‘muchly’ to reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

