10 Minute Design Fix for $10 or Less

There may be patches of snow outside and it might only be the beginning of February, but I’m ready for some Spring!  I love to bring little changes into our house for the holidays and  seasons, but as much as I love decorating, it can be overwhelming to our schedule and budget.  Sometimes I feel like a crazy person with all the design choices I have to make since we have this whole-home renovation going on right now.  I ask myself things like, “Am I really going to like this countertop I’m picking out based on 2-minutes of looking at samples at Home Depot 10 years from now?”   As we wrap up our major projects on the house, I decided to start sprucing the place up with quick and inexpensive fixes that make a big impact.  I crave a few choices I don’t have to be okay with until I’m 35.  So, enter my little blog series, “10-Minute Design Fixes for $10 or Less”.

Let’s start with how to add a little “Bam!” to  your bathroom.  Actually, let’s start with a picture of how this bathroom looked when we bought our house.

Nathan's house 043

Pepto-Bismal pink was apparently a favorite with the renters who lived here before us.

Nathan's house 042

You can’t get the full effect here with just a picture.  The smell really set the room off- there were three dead mice in the toilet tank and one in the bathtub.  I should have gotten up-close pictures of the rusty tub and the gold linoleum.

It came a long way by the time we got to the picture below, taken about 11 months ago.  I’ll do a post on the bathroom once we’re completely done with it.

100_1456

And here’s what it looked like the day we moved in.  Don’t be fooled by the sink and toilet sitting there- they were not hooked up and it took a couple frustrating weeks of us trying to fix our drainage problem on our own, and a few visits by some professional plumbers to get this bathroom functional.  Also notice how the tub regressed to being on its side in this picture. Someone lost I lost the original feet to the tub and the super expensive, modern feet I had to buy apparently don’t fit 100-year-old tubs.  Thanks to a full day of Grandpa Jack’s welding and tinkering, the tub eventually got feet and went upright again.

June 4 032

For the past few weeks, I’ve been trying to figure out how to “fix” the bathroom.  I really did love the light blue paint and the shower curtain, the white fixtures and the neutral marble flooring.  I just wasn’t convinced that the all blue-white-neutral was doing it for me.

I happened to be at Target on Thursday and found these towels.  I scooped up what they had left (two hand towels and two bath towels) and headed home.  It was just the trick!  I spent about $35.00 for this fix since we needed towels anyway, but really, $7.99 on one hand towel would give you the same pop of springy color in your bathroom.

100_1806

100_1814

100_1811100_1810

Time to stop reading my blog.  Head to Target now.

One thought on “10 Minute Design Fix for $10 or Less

  1. Pingback: Practical Storage (Bathroom Organization) | Our Nest Is Best

Leave a Reply

